Internal Audit take position one as best department
PDF version
Date and time: 
Mon, 2018-12-17 10:42

The university held its first ever staff award ceremony to celebrate excellence and to boost exceptional service to the University.

The award ceremony recognized staff with distinguished long service, exemplary performance through staff appraisal and performance contract.

In central administration, Internal Audit department took position one. The Chief Internal Auditor, Mr. Patrick Agutu accepted the prize on behalf of the department. Administration department took position 2 followed by Centre for Self-Sponsored Programs.

The Award for best college went to College of Architecture and Engineering. Number 2 position was taken by College of Biological and Physical Sciences and the third position was College of Agriculture and Veterinary Science

In the category for best researcher Dr. David Maina from the School of Engineering, Institute of Nuclear Science emerged the best

Long serving members were also recognized and awarded certificates and cash rewards. Prof. Samuel Kuria Mbugua and Prof. Lilly Bebora were awarded for serving the university for 42 years.

Speaking during the award ceremony, the Vice chancellor Prof. Mbithi noted it is critical to ensure that staffs are highly motivated through various methods including rewards to sustain high performance. The VC also noted that this event shall in the future be an annual event in the university calendar.

On her part, the Chair of Council Prof. Julia Ojiambo noted the award ceremony upholds the spirit of good employees who demonstrate good work ethics. Prof Ojiambo also urged the accomplished researchers to mentor upcoming researchers and offer support to them.

This is the first ever staff award ceremony. The event took place on Friday 14th December at Taifa Hall.

Expiry Date: 
Fri, 2021-12-31 10:42